The Jamestown Yacht Club's

31st Annual Fools' Rules Regatta

23 August 2008

"Plenty of fools in Jamestown"
(originally published in The Jamesown Press )

2008's Results

Class One

First Place - “Unnamed” – Baxter Linn (North Franklin, Ct.)
Second Place - “Internet Tubes” – Ryan Hirsh (Bethlehem, Pa.)
Third Place – “The Raft” – David Demieri (Jamestown)

Class Two

First Place - “The Olympian” – Kaile Roos (Jamestown) & Lori Hassel (Portsmouth)
Second Place - “The Chicken Ranchero” – Kurt Gustafson, Abe Rosenberg (North Kingstown)
Third Place – “Megalith” – James & John Byanski (Warwick)

Class Three

First Place - “Spriley” – Spencer, Riley and Paul Sprague (Jamestown)
Second Place - “Clear Buoyant” – Philip Stegall, Vlad Evtimoy, Greg Grisevich (Jamestown)
Third Place - “Circuit City” – Dylan Vogel, Cory Brown, Andy Sakovits (Jamestown)

Class Four

First Place - “Buzzy” – Jacob & Eliza Gomes, Connor Bois, Matt Demeiri (Jamestown)
Second Place - “Fun City II” – Chris & John Faella, Tianchi Wu, Adam Duszkiewicz (Peace Dale)
Third Place - “Sleeps 2” – Ted, Nick, & Michael Lin, Kavi Chebelyon (Gales Ferry, Ct.)

Unlimited Class

First Place - “Draggin’ Junk” – Amina Brown (Jamestown)
Second Place – “Team Crazy Face” – Nash Hurley (Brooklyn, NY)
Third Place - “Silver Ball Express” – Dick Karon (Jamestown)

Special Awards

Karl Smith Most Ingenious Design: “Silver Ball Express” (see Unlimited above)
Worst Example of Naval Architecture: “Blue Bayou” – Jeff Hunter (Jamestown)
Frank Newman Judges' Award: “Draggin’ Junk” (see Unlimited above)

Pictures courtesy of



Go back to the Fool's Rules Main Page

Created by Roy Guay - updated 29 August 2008