The Jamestown Yacht Club's

38th Annual Fools' Rules Regatta

August 22, 2015

Below are the results from Saturday’s very successful Fools’ Rules Regatta in Jamestown. We had 24 entrants: 14 of whom were from Jamestown and the rest from elsewhere in RI and nearby MA except for one family who came from San Diego, CA to enter. In addition to the ingenious designs, of note was an entry by the crew of RI’s tall ship the Oliver Hazard Perry and a team made up of Jamestown policemen. Thanks, once again.  Chris Powel

"24 boats compete in Fools' Rules"

(published in The Jamestown Press )

Despite repeated warnings of rain from local meteorologists, the 38th annual Fools' Rules Regatta went  off without a hitch.  Organizer Candy Powell sent weather updates via email Friday, but the good news came at 6:03 a.m. Saturday: "The Fools' Rules Regatta is on for today.  Clouds, no rain in Jamestown. Come join the fun."

Of the 24 vessels built at East Ferry, 14 had Jamestown connections.  In the doublehanded class, Nathan and Colten Allen of Jamestown sailed Green Sea Monster to victory.  Second place went to Hello Kitty 2.0, skippered by San Diegans Mary and Lilly Fangman, Conor and Sean Doyle took third place aboard Turtlemaran.

In the three-person class, only two boats reached the finish line.  Winning was wright Stuff, skippered by Jamestowner Louisa Wright and Hunter and Mason Tuff.  In the unlimited class, WBNA, skippered by the crew of the tall ship Oliver Hazaard Perry, finished first.  Woonsocket's Bob Boyer and crew finished second aboard Blizzard, and Jamestowner Brian Volpe skippered Minion Mayhem to third place.

WBNA was recognized for the most ingenious design.  The judges' award went to the Fangman girls, and local sailors Brian Brazil, Joe Wilicki and Kevin Bressler, aboard El Guapo, built the worst example of naval architecture.

Chris Powel
Chief Fool
Fools' Rules Regatta

2015's Results

Class One

First Place - “Surf Boat" - Alyssa (Jamestown)
Second Place - “Double Barrel" - Brody Leikam (Warwick)
Third Place – No 3rd place winner - only 2 boats in class

Class Two

First Place - “Green Sea Monster" - Nathan & Colton Allen (Jamestown)
Second Place - "Hello Kitty 2.0" - Mary & Lily Fangman (San Diego, CA)
Third Place – “Turtlemaran" - Conor & Sean Doyle  (Jamestown)

Class Three

First Place - "Wright Stuff" - Louisa Wright, Hunter & Mason Tuff (Jamestown)
Second Place - "Dog Lovers" - Kelsey & Ken Kelleter, Nicole Brule  (Wakefield)
Third Place - No third place, no other boat reached the finish line

Class Four

First Place - No class 4 race as there was only one entry for this class.  Vessel added another person and joined Unlimited Class.
Second Place -
Third Place -

Unlimited Class

First Place - “WBNA” – Kevin Connelly & the Oliver Hazard Perry crew  (Portsmouth)
Second Place – “Blizzard” – Bob Boyer and crew (Woonsocket)
Third Place - "Minion Mayhem" - Brian Volpe & crew (Jamestown)

Special Awards

Karl Smith Most Ingenious Design Award - "WBNA" - Kevin Connelly & the Oliver Hazard Perry crew  (Portsmouth)
Worst Example of Naval Architecture Award - “El Guapo" - Brian Brazil, Joe Wilicki & Kevin Bressler (Jamestown)
Frank Newman Judges' Award -
“Hello Kitty 2.0" - Mary & Lily Fangman (San Diego, CA)

Pictures courtesy of
  Andrea von Hohenleiten via the Jamestown Press



Go back to the Fool's Rules Main Page

Created by Roy Guay - updated 02 December 2015